top of page

This one simple practice can be highly influential to your goals, but are you ignoring it?

Oh how the weeks fly by. I don’t know about you, but some weeks I feel like I’m barely keeping up. This past week I was sent a video of my nephew falling asleep while he was eating and I have to say, I have never felt so understood in my entire life. Anyone else with me?

In the crazy, I realize how incredibly easy it is to miss the moments that anchor our optimism. Those small, seemingly insignificant blessings that when we stop and appreciate them, they lighten our moods, energize our spirits, and help us pursue positivity just a little bit more.

Thanksgiving has passed, and with it, our reminder to be grateful.

But did you know, from a health perspective, gratitude is a massively influential tool in how we progress in our goals and move in the direction of our dreams? There are countless studies to support a positive association between gratitude and a person's wellbeing. Not only can practicing gratitude increase overall feelings of happiness, but it can boost physical health, reduce anxiety and depression, improve sleep and help with self esteem.

And it's a bit funny, because in the beginning, when I first learnt about practicing gratitude, I fought it. I didn’t think actively acknowledging what I am grateful for would make that big of a difference in my life, and initially, it felt like more work trying to think of what I was grateful for, than just skipping it all together.

But honestly? It does. It works. Yes, in the beginning it may take some additional intention, it may require time and thought but it is an investment that will pay off. Our conscious effort to acknowledge what we are thankful for, grows into a subconscious attitude that is resilient, dedicated, and nurturing to both ourselves and others.

So friend, my challenge to you this week is to consider, if you don’t already, practicing gratitude. And if you already do, why don’t you try one of the additional tips I have listed below. 😊

Tips for Practicing Gratitude:

  • Write a thank-you note. Express your appreciation for someone that has impacted your life.

  • Thank someone mentally. If time is limited, make a conscious effort to internalize who you are thankful for, what they have done for you, and why you are grateful to have them in your life.

  • Keep a gratitude journal. This is a popular one, and for good reason. Make it a habit to write down each day what you feel thankful for. It can be absolutely anything, from a person, to a place, to a perspective. It may be challenging in the beginning, but I promise you there is always something. If you don’t want to keep a journal, download the app ‘Presently’ which works well from your phone.

  • Medidate. Slow down and spend mental energy focusing specifically on what you're grateful for.

I hope you’ll consider putting your attention towards gratitude. See how it changes your perspective, and how it promotes progress in your goals. If creating a positive mindset is something that you find challenging,

If you have the time, I’d invite you to comment below let me know what you’re grateful for today. For me, I am so genuinely thankful for the opportunity to connect with you. I love what I do, and you play a big role in that.

Here for you always, Jenn


Comments


bottom of page